How many dogs can you own in arkansas

In Arkansas, there is no limit to the number of dogs that can be owned. However, there are some restrictions on the types of dogs that can be owned. For example, dogs that are considered dangerous or those that are considered to be pests can't be owned.

Do you know how many dogs you can legally have in Arkansas? What about Texas? We're all dog lovers, right? I have two silly boxers named Haus and Deisel.In Arkansas, how many dogs can you have? In Texas, how many dogs can you have? Here's a picture of my two dogs, Haus, the big brindle one.

Wes Spicher Townsquare Media

Wes Spicher Townsquare Media

loading...

So, after a fruitless internet search, I contacted the professionals: Texarkana animal control.Following a conversation with animal control officer Hendrix, here is what he had to say about the number of dogs allowed in Texarkana, Arkansas:

In Texarkana, Arkansas, you can legally own four dogs, with the exception of puppies under the age of six months.However, if they are more than six months old, you will need a breeder's license to keep them at your house.

Bharathi Kannan Unsplash

Bharathi Kannan Unsplash

loading...

So, what about the rest of Arkansas? According to the American Kennel Club website, the only thing I found was a proposed bill to make people who own more than 12 dogs pay a $250 annual license fee, and if you own more than 24 dogs, the license fee is $1,000.

Things are a little clearer on the Texas side, according to the website midogguide.com.Here are the specifics on how many dogs you can own:

If you live in a single-family home on less than half an acre, you can have six (6) dogs and/or cats; if you live on more than half an acre, you can have eight (8) dogs and/or cats.

Jametlene Reskp Unsplash

Jametlene Reskp Unsplash

loading...

I have an update on this story: Michelle Daniel from the city of Texarkana called me and gave me the following information for Texarkana, Texas:

In Texarkana, you are allowed to have a maximum of five animals, which can be a mix of dogs and cats.

So there you have it; keep in mind that different cities may have different guidelines on how many dogs you can own, so check with your city to find out exactly how many dogs you can own.

LOOK: Here Are 30 Poisonous Foods for Dogs

To be prepared for an incident, keep your veterinarian's phone number handy, as well as the number of an after-hours clinic you can call in an emergency. The ASPCA Animal Poison Control Center also has a hotline you can call for advice at (888) 426-4435(888) 426-4435 for advice.

Even with all of these resources, the best cure for food poisoning is prevention. Stacker has put together a slideshow of 30 common foods to avoid to give you an idea of what human foods can be dangerous.Take a look and see if any of them surprise you.

More From Power 95.9

Arkansas Assistance Animal/Guide Dog Laws A.C.A. 20-14-301 to 310; A.C.A. 20-14-301 to 310; A.C.A. 20-14-301 to 310; A.C.A. 20-14-301 to 310;The state's relevant assistance animal and guide dog law is contained in the following statute: AR - Cruelty - Consolidated Cruelty/Animal Fighting Laws A.C.A.5-62-101 - 127; 5-14-122 A person commits a misdemeanor if he or she knowingly abandons any animal, subjects any animal to cruel mistreatment, fails to provide an animal in his or her custody with a sufficient quantity of wholesome food and water, fails to provide an animal in his or her custody with adequate shelter, kills or injures any animal belonging to another without legal privilege, orIf the offense involves torture, aggravated cruelty to a cat, dog, or horse is a Class D felony. AR - Damages, stock - 23-12-909A.C.A. 23-12-909 states that any person who has a special ownership in any horses, mules, cattle, or other stock killed or injured by any railroad trains operating in this state may sue the company operating the trains for damages within 12 months of the injury.A.C.A. 20-19-101 to 408; 2-40-110; 2-39-110; 15-41-113; 15-42-303; 5-54-126 These Arkansas statutes comprise the state's dog laws.Among the provisions are licensing laws, rabies control laws, and mandatory sterilization laws, as well as the Wolf-Hybrid statutory section.Domestic Abuse ACA 9-15-205 and 9-15-401 to 407 Following a finding of domestic abuse, a court may "[d]irect the care, custody, or control of any pet."owned, possessed, leased, kept, or held by either party residing in the household" in a petitioner's order for protection; Arkansas's Spousal Safety Plan Act defines emotional abuse to include harming a spouse's pet; emotional abuse, if committed by a spouse against their spouse, also constitutes spousal abuse.A.C.A. 5-62-201 - 204 This Arkansas subchapter addresses illegal acts committed against agricultural production and animal research facilities.A person commits an offense under the act if, without the effective consent of the owner, the person acquires or otherwise exercises control over an animal facility, an animal from an animal facility, or other property from an animal facility, with the intent to deprive the owner of the animal facility, animal, or property and disrupt or damage the enterprise conducted at the animal facility.AR - Endangered Species - Preservation of Endangered, Threatened, and Nongame Species A.C.A. 15-45-301 to 306 Arkansas law states that the state intends to protect rare, threatened, and endangered species.This policy also protects critical habitat for these species. AR - Equine - Equine Activity Liability A.C.A.16-120-201 - 202 This Arkansas statute states that an equine activity sponsor, an employee of an equine activity sponsor, a livestock sponsor, an employee of a livestock sponsor, a livestock owner, a livestock facility, or a livestock auction market are not liable for an injury or death to a participant resulting from the inherent risks of an equine activity or a livestock activity.Law also requires participants in equine activities to display warning signs alerting them to the assumption of risk. AR - Exotic Pets - Subchapter 4Ownership and Breeding of Wolves and Wolf-Dog Hybrids A.C.A. 20-19-401 - 408 This Arkansas statute governs the ownership and breeding of wolves and wolf-dog hybrids kept as companion animals.A "wolf-dog hybrid" is defined by law as any animal that is publicly acknowledged by its owner as the offspring of a wolf and a domestic dog; however, no animal may be judged to be a wolf or wolf-dog hybrid based solely on its appearance. The specific rabies vaccination requirements for wolf-dog hybrids are detailed, as are confinement requirements (i.e., specific fence dimensions).If a wolf or wolf-dog hybrid bites a person or injures or destroys another animal while out of its confined area, the person responsible for the animal's adequate confinement shall be guilty of a Class A misdemeanor upon conviction.Ownership and Possession of Large Carnivores A.C.A. 20-19-501 - 511 The ownership and possession of large carnivores is addressed in this Arkansas subchapter.A large carnivore is defined as a bear, lion, or tiger under the law, and a person may possess a large carnivore only if he or she had the large carnivore on or before August 12, 2005, and the person applies for and is granted a permit for personal possession for each large carnivore not more than one hundred eighty (180) days after August 12, 2005.Except for these "grandfathered" possessors and other entities (zoos, USDA permittees, veterinary hospitals, etc.), it is illegal for anyone to own, possess, breed, or transfer ownership of a large carnivore.Code Ann. 16-43-1002 governs the use of certified facility dogs for child witnesses and vulnerable witnesses (a person testifying in a criminal hearing or trial who has an intellectual and developmental disability or a significant impairment in cognitive functioning acquired as a direct result of a brain injury or resulting from a progressively deteriorating neurological condition, including, but not limited to, Alzheimer's disease or dementia).A dog must graduate from an assistance dog organization after receiving at least two years of training and passing the same public service access test as a service dog in order to qualify as a certified facility dog.Riots, Disorderly Conduct, A.C.A. 5-71-228 This statute is Arkansas' hunter harassment statute.It is unlawful for any person to willfully obstruct or impede any individual's participation in the lawful activity of shooting, hunting, fishing, or trapping in this state, according to the law, and the section also allows a person to obtain an injunction based on a showing that the hunting/fishing/trapping conduct is threatened or that the obstructive conduct has occurred in the past and it is not unreasonable to expect it to be repeated.Furthermore, a person harmed by the obstructive conduct may be awarded damages, including punitive damages. A person who violates this section while in possession of a firearm commits a Class A misdemeanor; otherwise, the violation is a Class B misdemeanor.Title 15 of the Arkansas Hunting Heritage Protection Act A.C.A.15-41-301 - 304 This Arkansas statute affirms that hunting is a significant recreational and economic activity in the state. AR - Initiatives - Constitutional Amendment 1 (right to hunt) Constitutional Amendment 1 (2010) This resolution proposes to amend the Arkansas Constitution to provide citizens of the state of Arkansas with a constitutional right to hunt, fish, trap, and harvest wildlife.The resolution states that the right would be limited only by regulations in accordance with Amendment 35 of the Arkansas Constitution, which was approved by 82.8% of voters in 2010.AR - Initiatives - Proposed Initiated Act 1 (cruelty) 2002 Proposed Initiative Act 1 This ballot proposal sought to amend Arkansas' Animal Cruelty Act by making the knowing torture, mutilation, maiming, burning, poisoning, malicious killing, starving, or disfiguring of a non-exempt animal a crime known as "Aggravated Animal Cruelty." This offense would then become a Class D felony subject to enumAR - Lien - 18-48-212. Sale proceeds and payments to be determined.18-48-212 All sales of livestock at public auction shall be for cash, and the proceeds of the sale, after payment of any underlying debts, shall be deposited with the treasurer of the county where the sale takes place if the owners are absent or unknown.These net proceeds shall be paid to the persons entitled to them when they properly establish ownership in, or lien upon, the livestock, either by claim of title or by claim of valid lien. AR - Ordinances - § 14-16-701A.C.A. 14-16-701 provides that, upon the written request of the governing body of a suburban improvement district (as defined by statute), a county may control and regulate dogs and cats within all or any part of the suburban improvement district by ordinance.Because this statute does not elaborate on the scope of such ordinances, it is assumed that the subject matter is limited solely by preemption.Dogs going astray. A.C.A.14-54-1102 This Arkansas statute provides that municipal corporations have the authority to prevent dogs from running at large and the injuries and annoyances associated with them, as well as to authorize the destruction or impoundment of dogs if they are found in violation of ordinance.However, before destroying the dog, the municipality must provide the dog's owner with at least five (5) days' notice of the date of the proposed destruction of the dog via certified mail if the dog carries the owner's address.A.C.A. Retail Pet Stores4-97-101 to 109 The Arkansas Retail Pet Store Consumer Protection Act of 1991 is comprised of this statutory section, and its purpose is to ensure that purchasers receive consumer animals that are physically and temperamentally sound, healthy, and fit as companions.The Act also includes provisions for monitoring the acquisition and care of those animals. AR - Primates - Subchapter 6A.C.A. 20-19-601 - 610 This 2013 Act prohibits the importation, possession, sale, or breeding of apes, baboons, and macaques.It is illegal under the act to allow a member of the public to come into direct contact with a primate, and it is also illegal to tether a primate outdoors or allow a primate to run at large.The section does not apply to AZA-accredited institutions, AWA-regulated research facilities, wildlife sanctuaries, temporary holding facilities, licensed veterinarians providing treatment, law enforcement officers, circuses holding AWA Class C licenses as provided, and those temporarily in the state.AR - Racing - Arkansas Greyhound Racing Law A.C.A. 23-111-101 to 23-111-518 This Act delegated sole authority over the business and sport of greyhound racing to the Arkansas Racing Commission.Greyhound racing may only be conducted in the state of Arkansas by an Arkansas Racing Commission-approved franchise, which must be a corporation organized under the laws of the state of Arkansas.A franchise may not be granted to an individual, partnership, association, or trust, and it may not be granted by the Commission until it has been authorized by a majority of qualified electors in the county in which the franchise intends to operate.The voters will be able to decide whether to accept or reject the Racing Commission's grant of a greyhound racing franchise, with each county only allowing one franchise to operate.AR - Trusts - Animal Care Trust A.C.A.28-73-408 This statute is Arkansas' pet trust law, and it states that a trust may be established to care for an animal alive during the settlor's lifetime.The trust terminates upon the death of the animal or, if the trust was established to provide for the care of more than one animal alive during the settlor's lifetime, upon the death of the last surviving animal.17-101-101 - 318 These are the state's veterinary practice laws, which include provisions governing licensing requirements, the state veterinary board, veterinary records laws, and disciplinary actions for impaired or incompetent practitioners.pet. owned, possessed, leased, kept, or held by either party residing in the household" in a petitioner's order for protectionArkansas' Spousal Safety Plan Act defines emotional abuse to include harming a spouse's pet; emotional abuse, if committed by a spouse against their spouse, also constitutes spousal abuse.5-62-201 - 204 According to the act, a person commits an offense if, without the effective consent of the owner, the person acquires or otherwise exercises control over an animal facility, an animal from an animal facility, or other property from an animal facility, with the intent to deprive the owner of the animal facility, animal, or property and disrupt agricultural production and animal research facilities.Anyone who violates any provision of this subchapter is charged with a Class D felony and must pay replacement costs/restitution. AR - Endangered Species - Endangered, Threatened, and Nongame Species Preservation A.C.A.15-45-301 to 306 Arkansas law states that it is the intent of the state to protect rare, threatened, and endangered species, as well as critical habitat for these species.A.C.A. 16-120-201 - 202 This Arkansas statute states that an equine activity sponsor, an employee of an equine activity sponsor, a livestock sponsor, an employee of a livestock sponsor, a livestock owner, a livestock facility, or a livestock auction market are not liable for an injury or death caused by the inherent risks of an equine activity or a livestock activity.When an equine activity sponsor or an employee of an equine activity sponsor, a livestock sponsor, an employee of a livestock sponsor, a livestock owner, a livestock facility, or a livestock auction market knows or should know the equipment or tack is faulty, fails to make reasonable and prudent efforts to determine the ability of the participant, was aware of a dangerous latent condition on the land, and commits an act or omission that constitutes wiAR - Exotic Pets - Subchapter 4. Wolves and Wolf-Dog Hybrid Ownership and Breeding A.C.A.20-19-401 - 408 This chapter of Arkansas laws addresses the regulation of wolves and wolf-dog hybrids kept as companion animals. A "wolf-dog hybrid" is defined as any animal that is publicly acknowledged by its owner as the offspring of a wolf and a domestic dog; however, no animal may be judged to be a wolf or wolf-dog hybrid solely on its appearance.The specific rabies vaccination requirements for wolf-dog hybrids are detailed, as are the confinement requirements (i.e., specific fence dimensions). If a wolf or wolf-dog hybrid bites a person or injures or destroys another animal while out of its confined area, the person responsible for the animal's adequate confinement shall be guilty of a Class A misdemeanor upon conviction.AR - Exotic Pets, Subchapter 5: Ownership and Possession of Large Carnivores A.C.A.20-19-501 - 511 This Arkansas subchapter addresses the ownership and possession of large carnivores, which are defined as a bear, lion, or tiger under the law.A person may own, possess, breed, or transfer ownership of a large carnivore only if he or she was in possession of the large carnivore on or before August 12, 2005, and the person applies for and is granted a permit for personal possession for each large carnivore not more than one hundred eighty (180) days after August 12, 2005. Except for these "grandfathered" possessors and other entities (zoos, USDA permittees, Ark. Code Ann. Code Ann. Code Ann. Code Ann. Code Ann. Code Ann. Code Ann. Code Ann. Code16-43-1002 This statute addresses the use of certified facility dogs for child witnesses and vulnerable witnesses (a person testifying in a criminal hearing or trial who has an intellectual and developmental disability or a significant impairment in cognitive functioning acquired as a direct result of a brain injury or resulting from a progressively deteriorating neurological condition, such as Alzheimer's disease or dementia).Riots, Disorderly Conduct, A.C.A., AR - Hunting - Chapter 715-71-228 This law is Arkansas' hunter harassment law, and it makes it illegal for anyone to willfully obstruct or impede anyone else's participation in the lawful activity of shooting, hunting, fishing, or trapping in this state.The section also allows a person to obtain an injunction based on a showing that the hunting/fishing/trapping conduct is threatened or that the obstructive conduct has occurred in the past and it is not unreasonable to expect it to occur again. Finally, a person who has been harmed by the obstructive conduct may be awarded damages, including punitive damages.If a person violates this section while in possession of a firearm, the violation is a Class A misdemeanor; otherwise, the violation is a Class B misdemeanor.Arkansas Hunting Heritage Protection Act A.C.A. 15-41-301 - 304 This Arkansas statute recognizes hunting as a valuable recreational and economic activity in the state.AR - Initiatives - Constitutional Amendment 1 (right to hunt) Constitutional Amendment 1 (2010) This resolution proposes to amend the Arkansas Constitution to provide citizens of the state of Arkansas with a constitutional right to hunt, fish, trap, and harvest wildlife, with the right limited only by regulations consistent with Amendment 35 of the Arkansas Constitution.It was approved by 82.8% of voters in 2010. AR - Initiatives - Proposed Initiated Act 1 (cruelty) 2002 Proposed Initiative Act 1 This ballot proposal sought to amend Arkansas' Animal Cruelty Act by making the knowing torture, mutilation, maiming, burning, poisoning, malicious killing, starving, or disfiguring of a non-exempted animal a crime known as "Aggravated Animal Cruelty."This measure was defeated at the polls, with 38% voting yes and 62% voting no.Sale proceeds and payments A.C.A. 18-48-212 All livestock sales at public auction must be for cash.If the owners are absent or unknown, the proceeds of the sale, after payment of any underlying debts, shall be deposited with the treasurer of the county where the sale takes place, and these net proceeds shall be paid to the persons entitled to them when they properly establish ownership in, or lien upon, the livestock, either by claim of title or claim of valid lien.AR - Ordinances - 14-16-701. A.C.A. River and Improvement District14-16-701 This Arkansas statute provides that, upon the written request of the governing body of a suburban improvement district (as defined by statute), a county may by ordinance control and regulate dogs and cats within all or any part of the suburban improvement district.AR - Ordinances - 14-54-1102. Misbehaving dogsA.C.A. 14-54-1102 This Arkansas statute states that municipal corporations have the authority to prevent dogs from running loose and causing injuries and annoyances.Furthermore, this statute authorizes municipalities to authorize the destruction or impoundment of dogs if they are found in violation of ordinance; however, before destroying the dog, the municipality must provide the dog's owner with at least five (5) days' notice of the date of the proposed destruction of the dog by certified mail if the dog carries the owner's address.Pet Sales in Arkansas - Chapter 97. Retail Pet StoresThe Arkansas Retail Pet Store Consumer Protection Act of 1991 is codified in A.C.A. 4-97-101 to 109.The purpose of the act is to ensure that purchasers receive consumer animals that are physically and temperamentally sound, healthy, and fit as companions. The Act also provides a means by which the acquisition and care of those animals can be monitoredAR - Primates - Subchapter 6 A.C.A. Nonhuman Primates20-19-601 - 610 The 2013 Act prohibits the importation, possession, sale, or breeding of apes, baboons, and macaques, as well as allowing a member of the public to come into direct contact with a primate.The section does not apply to accredited AZA institutions, AWA regulated research facilities, wildlife sanctuaries, temporary holding facilities, licensed veterinarians providing treatment, law enforcement officers, circuses holding AWA Class C licenses as provided, and those temporarily in the state.The act contains a grandfathering provision that allows a person of at least 18 years of age to continue to possess the restricted primate if the person registers the animal per 20-19-605 and follows the other listed requirements within 180 days of the act's effective date.The Arkansas Racing Commission has sole jurisdiction over the business and sport of greyhound racing under Sections 23-111-101 to 23-111-518 of the Arkansas Racing Commission Act. Greyhound racing may only be conducted in the State of Arkansas by a franchise approved by the Arkansas Racing Commission.A franchise must be a corporation organized under Arkansas law; it cannot be an individual, partnership, association, or trust.The Commission may not grant a franchise until it has been authorized by a majority of qualified electors in the county in which the franchise intends to operate. Voters will be able to choose whether to allow or reject the Racing Commission's grant of a franchise to conduct greyhound racing.Each county is only allowed one greyhound racing franchise. AR - Trusts - Trust for animal careA.C.A. 28-73-408 This statute is Arkansas's pet trust law.The law allows a trust to be established to care for an animal alive during the settlor's lifetime, and the trust terminates upon the death of the animal or, if the trust was established to care for more than one animal alive during the settlor's lifetime, upon the death of the last surviving animal.AR - Veterinary - Veterinary Practice Code A.C.A. 17-101-101 - 318 These are the veterinary practice laws in Arkansas.Among the provisions are requirements for licensing, laws governing the state veterinary board, laws governing veterinary records, and laws governing disciplinary actions for impaired or incompetent practitioners.owned, possessed, leased, kept, or held by either party residing in the household" in a petitioner's order for protection; Arkansas's Spousal Safety Plan Act defines emotional abuse to include harming a spouse's pet; emotional abuse, if committed by a spouse against their spouse, also constitutes spousal abuse.A.C.A. 5-62-201 - 204 This Arkansas subchapter addresses illegal acts committed against agricultural production and animal research facilities.A person commits an offense under the act if, without the effective consent of the owner, the person acquires or otherwise exercises control over an animal facility, an animal from an animal facility, or other property from an animal facility, with the intent to deprive the owner of the animal facility, animal, or property and disrupt or damage the enterprise conducted at the animal facility.AR - Endangered Species - Preservation of Endangered, Threatened, and Nongame Species A.C.A. 15-45-301 to 306 Arkansas law states that the state intends to protect rare, threatened, and endangered species.This policy also protects critical habitat for these species. AR - Equine - Equine Activity Liability A.C.A.16-120-201 - 202 This Arkansas statute states that an equine activity sponsor, an employee of an equine activity sponsor, a livestock sponsor, an employee of a livestock sponsor, a livestock owner, a livestock facility, or a livestock auction market are not liable for an injury or death to a participant resulting from the inherent risks of an equine activity or a livestock activity.Law also requires participants in equine activities to display warning signs alerting them to the assumption of risk. AR - Exotic Pets - Subchapter 4Ownership and Breeding of Wolves and Wolf-Dog Hybrids A.C.A. 20-19-401 - 408 This Arkansas statute governs the ownership and breeding of wolves and wolf-dog hybrids kept as companion animals.A "wolf-dog hybrid" is defined by law as any animal that is publicly acknowledged by its owner as the offspring of a wolf and a domestic dog; however, no animal may be judged to be a wolf or wolf-dog hybrid based solely on its appearance. The specific rabies vaccination requirements for wolf-dog hybrids are detailed, as are confinement requirements (i.e., specific fence dimensions).If a wolf or wolf-dog hybrid bites a person or injures or destroys another animal while out of its confined area, the person responsible for the animal's adequate confinement shall be guilty of a Class A misdemeanor upon conviction.Ownership and Possession of Large Carnivores A.C.A. 20-19-501 - 511 The ownership and possession of large carnivores is addressed in this Arkansas subchapter.A large carnivore is defined as a bear, lion, or tiger under the law, and a person may possess a large carnivore only if he or she had the large carnivore on or before August 12, 2005, and the person applies for and is granted a permit for personal possession for each large carnivore not more than one hundred eighty (180) days after August 12, 2005.Except for these "grandfathered" possessors and other entities (zoos, USDA permittees, veterinary hospitals, etc.), it is illegal for anyone to own, possess, breed, or transfer ownership of a large carnivore.Code Ann. 16-43-1002 governs the use of certified facility dogs for child witnesses and vulnerable witnesses (a person testifying in a criminal hearing or trial who has an intellectual and developmental disability or a significant impairment in cognitive functioning acquired as a direct result of a brain injury or resulting from a progressively deteriorating neurological condition, including, but not limited to, Alzheimer's disease or dementia).A dog must graduate from an assistance dog organization after receiving at least two years of training and passing the same public service access test as a service dog in order to qualify as a certified facility dog.Riots, Disorderly Conduct, A.C.A. 5-71-228 This statute is Arkansas' hunter harassment statute.It is unlawful for any person to willfully obstruct or impede any individual's participation in the lawful activity of shooting, hunting, fishing, or trapping in this state, according to the law, and the section also allows a person to obtain an injunction based on a showing that the hunting/fishing/trapping conduct is threatened or that the obstructive conduct has occurred in the past and it is not unreasonable to expect it to be repeated.Furthermore, a person harmed by the obstructive conduct may be awarded damages, including punitive damages. A person who violates this section while in possession of a firearm commits a Class A misdemeanor; otherwise, the violation is a Class B misdemeanor.Title 15 of the Arkansas Hunting Heritage Protection Act A.C.A.15-41-301 - 304 This Arkansas statute affirms that hunting is a significant recreational and economic activity in the state. AR - Initiatives - Constitutional Amendment 1 (right to hunt) Constitutional Amendment 1 (2010) This resolution proposes to amend the Arkansas Constitution to provide citizens of the state of Arkansas with a constitutional right to hunt, fish, trap, and harvest wildlife.The resolution states that the right would be limited only by regulations in accordance with Amendment 35 of the Arkansas Constitution, which was approved by 82.8% of voters in 2010.AR - Initiatives - Proposed Initiated Act 1 (cruelty) 2002 Proposed Initiative Act 1 This ballot proposal sought to amend Arkansas' Animal Cruelty Act by making the knowing torture, mutilation, maiming, burning, poisoning, malicious killing, starving, or disfiguring of a non-exempt animal a crime known as "Aggravated Animal Cruelty." This offense would then become a Class D felony subject to enumAR - Lien - 18-48-212. Sale proceeds and payments to be determined.18-48-212 All sales of livestock at public auction shall be for cash, and the proceeds of the sale, after payment of any underlying debts, shall be deposited with the treasurer of the county where the sale takes place if the owners are absent or unknown.These net proceeds shall be paid to the persons entitled to them when they establish proper ownership in, or lien on, the livestock, either by claim of title or by claim of valid lien.A.C.A. 14-16-701 provides that, upon the written request of the governing body of a suburban improvement district (as defined by statute), a county may control and regulate dogs and cats within all or any part of the suburban improvement district by ordinance.Because this statute does not elaborate on the scope of such ordinances, it is assumed that the subject matter is limited solely by preemption.Dogs going astray. A.C.A.14-54-1102 This Arkansas statute provides that municipal corporations have the authority to prevent dogs from running at large and the injuries and annoyances associated with them, as well as to authorize the destruction or impoundment of dogs if they are found in violation of ordinance.However, before destroying the dog, the municipality must provide the dog's owner with at least five (5) days' notice of the date of the proposed destruction of the dog via certified mail if the dog carries the owner's address.A.C.A. Retail Pet Stores4-97-101 to 109 The Arkansas Retail Pet Store Consumer Protection Act of 1991 is comprised of this statutory section, and its purpose is to ensure that purchasers receive consumer animals that are physically and temperamentally sound, healthy, and fit as companions.The Act also includes provisions for monitoring the acquisition and care of those animals. AR - Primates - Subchapter 6Nonhuman Primates A.C.A. § 20-19-601 - 610 This 2013 Act prohibits the importing, possession, selling, or breeding of apes, baboons, and macquesIt is illegal under the act to allow a member of the public to come into direct contact with a primate, and it is also illegal to tether a primate outdoors or allow a primate to run at large.The section does not apply to AZA-accredited institutions, AWA-regulated research facilities, wildlife sanctuaries, temporary holding facilities, licensed veterinarians providing treatment, law enforcement officers, circuses holding AWA Class C licenses as provided, and those temporarily in the state.AR - Racing - Arkansas Greyhound Racing Law A.C.A. 23-111-101 to 23-111-518 This Act delegated sole authority over the business and sport of greyhound racing to the Arkansas Racing Commission.Greyhound racing may only be conducted in the state of Arkansas by an Arkansas Racing Commission-approved franchise, which must be a corporation organized under the laws of the state of Arkansas.A franchise may not be granted to an individual, partnership, association, or trust, and it may not be granted by the Commission until it has been authorized by a majority of qualified electors in the county in which the franchise intends to operate.The voters will be able to decide whether to accept or reject the Racing Commission's grant of a greyhound racing franchise, with each county only allowing one franchise to operate.AR - Trusts - Animal Care Trust A.C.A.28-73-408 This statute is Arkansas' pet trust law, and it states that a trust may be established to care for an animal alive during the settlor's lifetime.The trust terminates upon the death of the animal or, if the trust was established to provide for the care of more than one animal alive during the settlor's lifetime, upon the death of the last surviving animal.17-101-101 - 318 These are the state's veterinary practice laws, which include provisions governing licensing requirements, the state veterinary board, veterinary records laws, and disciplinary actions for impaired or incompetent practitioners.

What are Arkansas's dog laws?

There are no statewide dog leash laws in Arkansas; however, municipalities in Arkansas have the authority to enact city ordinances governing specific dog rules and regulations under Arkansas statute A.C.A.§ 14-54-1102.. In Arkansas, municipalities are provided the power to decide city ordinances on specific dog rules and regulations under statute A.C.A. § 14-54-1102.

How many dogs can you housebreak?

In the United States, for example, the number of dogs you can own is not limited if you live in a rural area; however, if you live in a city, there is a general rule of two to three dogs allowed per household.The purpose of these laws in urban areas is to control nuisances that can occur in smaller and more intimate spaces.two to three dogs allowed per household. The reason for these laws in urban areas, is to control nuisances that can be caused in smaller and closer spaces.

Can I have an unlimited number of dogs?

The number of dogs you can own in California is limited to three or four, depending on the municipality; if you own five or more, you must obtain a special kennel permit.capped at three or four depending on the specific municipality you live in. Once you own five or more dogs, you need to get a special kennel permit.

Is it necessary to have a license to breed dogs in Arkansas?

Arkansas is one of the top ten states in terms of the number of puppy mills, but it is the only one without any commercial breeding laws.Arkansas is the only one that doesn't have any commercial breeding laws.